Bris

Yesterday was probably the most uncomfortable but at the same time interesting day I have had in a very long time. Matthew had his bris and I was there to celebrate with the whole family.

It took place at 9am at his grandparent’s house where 20 family members had gathered around the tiny baby in the living room. As the Rabbi walked in all the men put on their yamakas and the room became quiet. The ceremony began and since most of it was in Hebrew I didn’t understand a thing. I was in charge on taking pictures and therefore kept to myself hiding behind the big camera. A napkin was soaked in red wine and while Matthew sucked out every last drop the Rabbi did what he was there to do, the circumcision. I thought I was going to be strong but realized pretty quickly that looking out the window was probably the best way for me to get through the next 15 seconds. Tears were rolling down my cheeks as I heard what was going on and a feeling of pain went through my whole body.

The next Hebrew song was sung and people clapped their hands while the grandmother danced around the room with Matthew in her arms.

Bagels, fruit and pastries were served along with champagne and mimosas. 2 hours after I walked through the door, the party was over.

           
   


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0