Easter Decorations

The sun is back after 4 days of constant rain, gray skies and flooded streets. I have turned my calendar to April and yet another picture of littleman appeared. Easter this weekend and I decided to for the first time in 6 years decorate for this colorful holiday. Went to IKEA yesterday to look for Easter sticks, or påskris, as we say it in Sweden. Of course the only one they had was not for sale. Instead I bought more lingonberry bread mix and delicato chocolate ball and chatted with my new friend Carina. Drove back home and started looking through our closet to see what kind of decoration I had. It wasn’t much, four tiny eggs and a crushed chicken. I also had two Easter eggs meant to be filled with candy but will this year serve as decorations, and at the bottom of the bag three mini Swedish flags. I hung my eggs on our aloe plant, stuck the flags in our cactuses and the eggs are looking pretty under our hallway lamp. Next year I will be more prepared.

Speaking of IKEA and my friend Carina, two weeks ago while shopping at IKEA’s food market I overheard two girls speaking Swedish. After 5 years without any Swedish friends Mike pushed me to go up and talk to them, and I did. We exchanged phone numbers and I got invited to celebrate Waffle day at one of their houses. It turns out that they are a group of 7 girls that hang out all the time and 6 of them live within 10 minutes from here. I had so much fun and it was extremely nice to speak Swedish and just being able to talk to somebody that is in the same situation as me. They are all a little older than me and have been here way longer than me, but it really doesn’t matter, we are all in the same boat.

           
                                    


Kommentarer
Postat av: Mamma

Superfin påskdekoration, nästa år blir det kanske riktigt påskris och ägg med svenskt plockgodis i.Kram mamma

2010-04-05 @ 11:23:42
Postat av: Christine

Åh jag måste ju till ikea och köpa delicatobollar! Muuuums :-)

2010-04-08 @ 11:08:49
URL: http://christineiparis.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0